33. Bed.

It was going to be a lazy, quiet Monday. Or at least I thought…

My workout routine was already behind me, ambient background music fills the apartment/fills me with energy, I have a few projects planned for school to address and check off my list.

My Sweetie left for therapy (he’s a bit crazy in the head but I love him!) and planned to pick up a couple more healthy products from the grocery for today’s late lunch/early dinner. I stayed at home and was finishing my training for today (unfortunately I think I quite probably pulled a muscle today …) I managed to finish the last set of my abs exercise when I heard the doorbell ring. For a moment I thought I must be hearing thing s – nobody ever rings our doorbell – but just in case, I went into the kitchen to see if someone was at the back door of the apartment. Empty, no one was there. I didn’t even make it back to the bedroom when I heard the bell again. I ran back, opened the door and there he was, Elisha, the caretaker/manager of our building with some young guy. “Sorry, I did not let you know in advance, but we would like to do the measurements. It will take a couple of minutes, can we come in?”

“Great” I thought. It wasn’t enough that I was as sweaty as a horse after having just run The Kentucky Derby, I was still wearing my workout shorts and a T-shirt. I had been on my way to take a shower. In addition, I had not had the time yet to make up the bed in the master bedroom and the second bedroom was filled with exercise equipment. “You will be measuring the whole apartment?” – I asked with the faint hope in my head that the answer would be no. “Yes” – the short response ruined my expectation.

I do not know why I always have unexpected visitors when I am not prepared. In this case, we had visitors when I was ready to start my day with nice, long shower. Every other day, when everything is arranged, put in place and shines like a set from the magazine, there is not even a phone call (well, maybe I’m exaggerating). But when I am running late, thirty minutes behind on my whole daily “schedule” or have my entire day planned out, someone always seems to appear at the door.

With a flush on my cheeks, I invited them inside. I exchanged a few pleasant sentences with Elisha while the young architect walked around the apartment, making notes about the new system placement. As it turns out, my apartment building is getting a new “fire suppression system” to update the building. I myself gave up on following him, haunted by images of the two messy bedrooms in my head. Fortunately, there was no underwear lying around. When he asked me if he could take some pictures for his sketches, I’m sure my face flushed red again. Sure, I just hope you can miraculously miss our bed…”  I know that there is a general overall apartment cleaning waiting for me very soon…

messy-bed1241106109

Fortunately, when my Angel got back we both laid down on this same, undone bed to relax for a couple minutes under our big, warm, cozy blanket.  I was in my Sweetie’s arms looking on snowflakes falling slowly beyond the window. I felt happy and safe in our small oasis, with the big world running outside with all its chaos and noise, and the two of us just lying down in our cozy bed with quiet, relaxed minds.

Leave a comment